Prix De Chaumont – Report by Sticky Bottle

You don’t know what to expect going to France; but I can cope

Posted on: March 12th, 2015

Matt Teggart goes off the front in France, where he has settled in with his first podium placing since starting racing there two weeks ago (Photo: Yoann Carpentier)

Ireland’s Matt Teggart is settling into life in France very well after taking a top 10 and a podium place in his opening two weekend’s racing.

The former Nicolas Roche Performance Team man is riding in the colours of amateur club team AC Bisontine alongside fellow Irishmen Dylan Foley and Ryan Reilly.

And last weekend he went very close to victory in the Prix De Chaumont.

Though the country’s pro riders weren’t present, there was still a field stacked with the best amateurs to contend with.

Teggart said he had not been feeling too hot prior to the race but still managed to get stuck in over the five-lap event of over 100 kilometres.

First year U23 rider Matt Teggart, in yellow, finishing in 2nd place in the Prix De Chaumont at the weekend.

“The first lap I wanted to be well positioned to follow any moves and to learn the circuit so I was in the first 10 riders and nothing was sticking,” he said of the early exchanges.

But around the midway point he saw an opportunity.

“The bunch hit the climb on the circuit and I could see a few guys slipping off the front and guys letting the wheels go.

“I knew it looked a dangerous move but it’s hard not knowing the riders like you would at home,” he said.

“You have no idea how good or bad the guys up the road are but I took the chance and kicked hard and made sure no-one had my wheel.

Storming home into Ennistimon to win stage 3 of the Junior Tour last year wearing the points classification jersey; a competition he would go on to win overall (Photo: Stephen McMahon – Sportsfile)

Putting his head down, he quickly closed the gap to about 12 others just as they got over the climb.

“That was the break and we worked extremely hard trying to hold off the bunch for the rest of the race; we never really gained more than 40 seconds.

“I probably did a bit more work than I should have but I knew if we held off the bunch the final three kilometres would suit me because it was uphill.”

An attack from the break saw the 12 become eight, with Teggart making the split for the final 20 kilometres.

Hunter’s instinct: Taking the Groucho GP in Richill last June where he just got past Cathal Clarke, himself a winner in Belgium later in the summer.

“The attacks were coming left, right and centre but I jumped straight onto the wheel of every move because if someone slipped away it was all over.

“Then with about 1 kilometre to go a massive attack went. I struggled to hold that, but I just about managed to stay in the wheel of the guy who went on to win it.”

Teggart said he decided to attack the finish with all he had left.

“I opened up my sprint first; I was hoping my good kick would distance him and he would run out of road to get around me.

“But in the end he had the better legs and he had me by a few bike lengths.

Teggart (right) and Michael O’Loughlin (left) in the colours of AC Bisontine during their brief stint with the team at the end of last summer. Pictured with Soline Lamboley, French national champion and world junior track championship sliver medal winner. Teggart has now returned to race with the squad this season (Photo: http://www.be-celt.com)

“I didn’t think I had great form as I felt bad all week and have done very little top-end stuff, so I was very happy I had the legs to follow all the attacks.”

However, he said immediately after crossing the line he could not help but think what might have been.

“I was a bit disappointed straight away with not getting the win but all the guys and team staff congratulated me after and I started to feel a bit better.

“Looking back, I’m delighted with how I’ve started the season. I didn’t really know what to expect coming to France in the first few races.

“But now I know I can cope well with the high standard. I’m feeling more confident about the season ahead.”

By Brian Canty

http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/you-dont-know-what-to-expect-going-to-france-but-i-can-cope/

Leave a comment